À LA CARTE: A FEAST OF NEW PLAYS


plays inspired by food

by the Playwrights of The WorkShop Theater

in The Main Stage Theater

Unable to resolve URL.

"BOTTOM LINE: Our highest recommendation! The most exciting new work of the Off-Broadway season. Six brilliant short plays by superb writers, performed by a stunningly beautiful cast and superbly orchestrated by a masterful director. A must for enterprising theater-goers!...Please, WorkShop Company: Let's have another half-dozen courses from this delectable menu." --Ronald Gross, NY Theater Buying Guide

"Cumulatively it’s an entertaining program that gives a wonderful showcase to the excellent cast of actors that have been assembled to portray these often rich roles."

"To have selected this fine cast who all give superior performances, staged them all expertly, and realized the potential of each work is triumphant achievement.  Her work combined with the fine writing and excellent ensemble makes A la Carte: A Feast of New Plays, a very fulfilling theatrical event." --Darryl Reilly, TheaterScene.net

"...  I had never seen a mainstage play at this prolific off-off Broadway space. I picked the perfect show to whet my appetite... All are directed effortlessly by Leslie Kincaid Burby."

"A La Carte all goes down easy and makes for a great sampler of an evening." --David Lally, nytheater now

Thursday, April 9 @ 7:00 p.m.
Friday, April 10 @ 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 11 @ 8:00 p.m.
Sunday, April 12 @ 3:00 p.m.

Thursday, April 16 @ 7:00 p.m.
Friday, April 17 @ 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 18 @ 8:00 p.m.
Sunday, April 19 @ 3:00 p.m.

Monday, April 20 @ 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, April 23 @ 7:00 p.m.
Friday, April 24 @ 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 25 @ 8:00 p.m.

Wednesday, April 29 @ 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, April 30 @ 7:00 p.m.
Friday, May 1 @ 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, May 2 @ 8:00 p.m.


Latecomers will be seated at the discretion of the management.  


The Cook and the Soldier by Allan Knee

Cast: Tess Frazer, Joe Boover, Lauren Riddle, Tom Berdik

Popcorn by Scott C. Sickles

Cast: Cody Keown, Joe Boover, Susan Izatt*, Virginia Roncetti*

Eat Dessert First by Dana Leslie Goldstein

Cast: Susan Izatt*, Mary Rugh Baggott

Palate Cleanser by Gary Giovannetti

Cast: C.K. Allen, Bob Manus*

Unable to resolve URL.

Fish Food by Laura Hirschberg

Cast: C.K. Allen, Lauren Riddle 

The Incredible Egg by Laurie Graff

Cast: Robert Bruce McIntosh*, Desirée Matthews*

Unable to resolve URL.

* appears courtesy of Actors Equity Association