Back to All Events

MESQUITE, NV


written by Leegrid Stevens
directed by Thomas Coté

Playwright Leegrid Stevens interviewed actual people in Mesquite, NV… layers of understanding within each scene... If it was a “real-ness” he was searching for, he has succeeded.

Director Thomas Coté makes moments of realization honest and clear.

…the play never loses its truth.

Liz Amberly brilliantly portrays Linda Hadley…

---Theater Pizzazz

Stevens is a clever writer who possesses an enviable amount of playwriting technique…

…director Thomas Coté keeps everything fast-paced and ridiculous, with a lot of support from his design team.

---TheaterScene.com

 

The mayoral campaign in the retirement community of Mesquite, Nevada turns nasty as accusations of illegal activity surrounding a $90 travel voucher are leaked to the local press. The accusations quickly divide the town and lead to a complete political upheaval in this dark comedy about power and politics in the USA.

Thursday, October 5 - 7pm
Friday, October 6 - 7pm
Saturday, October 7 - 8pm
Sunday, October 8 - 3pm

†Thursday, October 12 - 7pm
†Friday, October 13 - 7pm
Saturday, October 14 - 8pm
Sunday, October 15 - 3pm

Thursday, October 19 - 7pm
**Friday, October 20 - 7pm
Saturday, October 21 - 8pm
Sunday, October 22 - 3pm

Wednesday, October 25 - 7pm
Thursday, October 26 - 7pm
Friday, October 27 - 7pm
Saturday, October 28 - 8pm

Talkback that evening
**Special talkback with Mesquite local journalist, Barbara Ellestad

Cast:
    Liz Amberly*
    Jeff Paul*
    Robert Meksin*
    Jackie Jenkins*
    Jed Dickson*
    Alex Dmitriev
    Jill Melanie Wirth*
    Joe Burby*
    Michael Gnat*

* Appears courtesy of Actors Equity Association

Mesquite-18x24-rev.jpg
Earlier Event: October 1
SNAP, CRACKLE...
Later Event: October 8
THE HIRED SELF